Dakar 2022, Stage 2: Loeb wins as Al-Attiyah holds overall lead

Dakar 2022, Stage 2: Loeb wins as Al-Attiyah holds overall lead

Riding for the Prodrive-budge Bahrain Raid Xtreme team, Loeb led from originate to develop in the 338km special between Ha’il and Al Artawiyah, clinching his 15th stage clutch in Dakar – and the main since 2019.

The Frenchman built a 12-second lead over Toyota driver Al-Attiyah by the main checkpoint and gradually extended his advantage thereafter, ending the stage 3m28s certain of the three-time Dakar champion.

The result helped Loeb invent a dent into Al-Attiyah’s lead in the customary classifications, although the Qatari driver aloof enjoys a wholesome 9m16s cushion heading into Tuesday’s 255km stage from Al Artawiyah to Al Qaysumah.

Audi mounted a sturdy comeback in Stage 2 after a disastrous time out for its three RS Q e-trons on Sunday, with Carlos Sainz main the charge for the German manufacturer in third.

Having misplaced over two hours in Stage 1 with navigational troubles, the three-time Dakar champion done lawful 5m52s off the fling of Loeb on Monday, showcasing the raw fling of Audi’s all-contemporary electrical challenger.

Stephane Peterhansel backed up the velocity of his teammate Sainz by ending fourth, a extra two minutes adrift of the leaders, although a 16-hour penalty for no longer ending Stage 1 method he’s now no longer in the working for a chronicle-extending 15th Dakar clutch.

Further serve, Nani Roma done fifth in the second of the three BRX entries, whereas Overdrive driver Yazeed Al Rajhi led manufacturing unit Toyota pairing Henk Lategan and Giniel de Villiers in sixth site.

Two-time DTM champion Mattias Ekstrom (Audi) furthermore rebounded from a jumpy first stage to develop ninth, whereas Overdrive driver Bernhard Ten Brinke made it five Hilux T1+ cars inside of the tip-10.

Lucio Alvarez – furthermore from Overdrive – done 11th to switch as a lot as third in the total standings, albeit over 40 minutes down on outright leader Al-Attiyah.

De Villiers sits fourth in the customary classification ahead of the VRT BMW of Vladimir Vasilyev, with Orlen Ford driver Martin Prokop slipping to sixth site.

No matter an improved exhibiting on Monday, no longer one of many Audis maintain managed to interrupt inside of the tip 20, with Mattias Ekstrom provisionally positioned 26th in the standings and Sainz extra at the serve of in 29th site.

General standings after Stage 2:

Pos. #. Name Automobile Time Gap
1 201 Nasser Al-Attiyah TOYOTA 06: 59: 21  
2 211 Sebastien Loeb PRODRIVE 07: 08: 37 +00: 09: 16
3 222 Lucio Alvarez TOYOTA 07: 40: 14 +00: 40: 53
4 207 Giniel de Villiers TOYOTA 07: 40: 43 +00: 41: 22
5 208 Vladimir Vasilyev BMW 07: 43: 00 +00: 43: 39
6 209 Martin Prokop FORD 07: 44: 14 +00: 44: 53
7 223 Sebastian Halpern MINI 07: 46: 38 +00: 47: 17
8 205 Yazeed Al-Rajhi TOYOTA 07: 48: 14 +00: 48: 53
9 203 Jakub Przygonski MINI 07: 58: 42 +00: 59: 21
10 221 Orlando Terranova PRODRIVE 08: 04: 24 +01: 05: 03

Soccer News

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *